New Destiny Praise and Worship Center
February 15, 2022


February 15, 2022



February 15, 2022


The Priestly Title and Position of Jesus


Doxology – A doxology (Ancient Greek: δοξολογία doxologia, from δόξα, doxa ‘glory’ and -λογία, -logia ‘saying’) is a short hymn of praises to God in various forms of Christian worship, often added to the end of canticles, psalms, and hymns.

An example of a doxology is the song “Praise God from whom all blessing flow.”

Apologetics – In its most basic sense, apologetics refers to systematic argumentative discourse. Breaking that definition down further, it means that an alternative view of a topic is offered in an organized fashion. It doesn’t have to be argumentative in the sense of being quarrelsome. Christian apologetics is the intellectual defense of the truth of the Christian religion. But the word apologetics itself stems from the Greek word apologia, which means simply an answer given in reply.

Ecclesiastical – Anything ecclesiastical is related to the Christian church. An ecclesiastical office is the office at a church, and a nun’s habit is ecclesiastical dress. A hat with a propeller on top is not.

Ecclesiastical things have to do with Christian churches or the clergy. Pews, readings from the Bible, and stained glass windows are all part of the ecclesiastical world. The ecclesiastical hierarchy is the pecking order of the clergy, and high-ranking clergy are considered to be ecclesiastical authorities. Secular is the opposite of ecclesiastical.

Ecclesiastical of or belonging to the Church (ecclesia). In later times the word ecclesiastic came to be applied solely to clergymen as a name, and ecclesiastical is often confined in use, improperly, to the affairs of the clergy. The word means men of the Church, and was applied to Christians as being neither of Jewish synagogues, nor heathen temples, nor heretical conventicles, but members of the Church of Christ.

Evangelical – The term “evangelical” comes from the Greek word euangelion, meaning “the good news” or the “gospel.” Thus, the evangelical faith focuses on the “good news” of salvation brought to sinners by Jesus Christ. Emphasizing salvation by faith in the atoning death of Jesus Christ through personal conversion, the authority of Scripture, and the importance of preaching as contrasted with rituals.

Christians who share four main qualities:

  • Biblicism: a high regard for the Bible
  • Crucicentrism: a focus on Jesus’s crucifixion and its saving effects
  • Conversionism: a belief that humans need to be converted
  • Activism: the belief that faith should influence one’s public life


the Godhead, trinity

  • God the Father, the first person in the trinity
  • Christ, the second person of the trinity
  • Holy Spirit, the third person in the trinity

spoken of the only and true God

  • refers to the things of God
  • his counsels, interests, things due to him

whatever can in any respect be likened unto God, or resemble him in any way

Theology Proper – Theology proper is the study of God and His attributes. Theology proper focuses on God the Father. Theology proper answers several important questions about God:

Does God exist?

What are the attributes of God?

What does the Bible teach about the Trinity?

Is God sovereign, or do we have free will?

Theology proper discusses God’s omnipresence, omniscience, omnipotence, and eternality. It teaches us about who God is and what He does.

“Every high priest is selected from among the people and is appointed to represent the people in matters related to God, to offer gifts and sacrifices for sins. 2 He is able to deal gently with those who are ignorant and are going astray, since he himself is subject to weakness. 3 This is why he has to offer sacrifices for his own sins, as well as for the sins of the people. 4 And no one takes this honor on himself, but he receives it when called by God, just as Aaron was. 5 In the same way, Christ did not take on himself the glory of becoming a high priest. But God said to him, “You are my Son; today I have become your Father.” 6 And he says in another place, “You are a priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek.” ~Hebrews 5:1-6

  1. His Humanity (chosen from his own people) – v1
  2. His Compassion (cared for all even those untouched and unlovable) – v2
  3. His Divineness (God appointed, Heavenly anointed, filled with the spirit of God) –v5
  4. His Distinctive Mark (from the tribe of Judah not a Levite Forever) – v6
  • We walk in priestly assignment.
  • We preach in priestly anointing.
  • We serve as the priesthood of believers to advance the kingdom.
  • Melchizedek priesthood
  • Jesus is superior to Melchizedek.
  • Melchizedek’s name means king of righteousness
  • Salem means he was king of peace.

Rick Warren writes: “God loves to turn crucifixions into resurrections. The things you wish were most remove from your life are often the things God uses to shape you and make you into the believer he wants you to be. He wants to use that problem for good in your life. There is something more import

Save PDF Locally

Click to save a copy of the filled-in notes to a PDF file on your device

Save PDF to Google Drive

(Android & PC Only) Click to save a copy of the filled-in notes to a PDF file on your Google Drive account

Send to Email

Enter your email address below to receive a copy of your filled in notes